Les Impatientes

At the beginning, a group of girls passionate about documentary cinema and the desire to show reality, in all its dimensions.

The association “Les Impatientes” was created in 2008, on the initiative of a handful of Master’s students in
“Cinema – direction and creation” from the University of Paris 8 – Vincennes St Denis. In search of outlets for their creations, they see in the association a structure allowing them to develop their projects. Encouraged by a teacher, they embarked on the adventure.

That’s how it all started. Flavia, founder of “Les Impatientes”, and one of her college friends started from the idea of producing their own films. The creation of the association takes longer than expected. Indeed, they reflect for one year on its structure and write an elaborated internal regulations.

At the same time, Flavia met professionals from the documentary world, who encouraged her to present young creations : this is how the first edition of the International Student Documentary Festival, now Emerging (Fidé), was organized.

Les Impatientes

Au départ, quelques filles passionnées de cinéma documentaire et une envie : celle de montrer le réel, dans toutes ses dimensions.

L’association « Les Impatientes » est née en 2008, à l’initiative d’une poignée d’élèves du Master
« Cinéma – réalisation et création » de l’université Paris 8 – Vincennes St Denis. À la recherche de débouchés pour leurs créations, elles voient en l’association une structure leur permettant de développer leurs projets. Encouragées par une professeure, elles se lancent donc dans l’aventure.

C’est ainsi que tout a commencé. Flavia, fondatrice des Impatientes, et une de ses copines de fac sont parties de l’idée de produire leurs propres films. La création de l’association prend alors plus de temps que prévu. En effet, elles réflechissent pendant un an à la structuration de celle-ci, élaborant notamment un règlement intérieur.

Parallèlement, Flavia rencontre des professionnels du milieu du documentaire, qui l’encouragent à présenter les jeunes créations : c’est ainsi que s’organise la première édition du Festival International du Documentaire Étudiant, aujourd’hui Émergent (Fidé).